Educators Honored

EOY Group 2019.jpeg

 The Yuba County Office of Education honored educators who were nominated by their school districts on Thursday, May 2, 2019 at Wheatland High School.

The nominees were vetted by the districts in Yuba County and were submitted to the Yuba County Office of Education for recognition. A panel of judges selected one certificated applicant who will be submitted to the California Department of Education for further consideration for the California Teachers of the Year Program. Due to different criteria for classified staff members, the county office will submit three classified nominees to the California Department of Education for the Classified School Employees of the Year Program.

The Wheatland High School students and staff will share their talents by helping with many of the preparations for the event. Chef Kuulei Moreno’s culinary students catered the event and Mr. Troy Simington and the Wheatland Jazz Band performed during the dinner.

The following educators were recognized at the Yuba County Educator of the Year Ceremony:

District Classified Employees of the Year

Michele Pearcy, Camptonville Union Elementary

Merri May, S. Lindhurst High School-MJUSD

John Morton, Yuba Gardens School-MJUSD

Cecelia Torres, Cobblestone-PLESD

Lorena Wade, Lone Tree School-WESD

Robin Embree, Wheatland High School-WUHSD

Melody LaChappa, Virginia School-YCOE

The following educators have been selected and meet the criteria to be considered for further recognition from the state: Michele Pearcy - Paraeducator from Camptonville Union Elementary - Merri May, Principal’s Secretary from South Lindhurst High School and Melody LaChappa - Custodian from Virginia School.

You have to log in or create an account and log in to post comments. Click here to login or register