Early Risers Kiwanis Scholarship Recipients.5.14.19-1.jpg

The Early Riser Kiwanis Club of Yuba City has awarded nine (9) $2,000 scholarships to local high school seniors on behalf of the Vern Williams Scholarship Program, the Early Riser Academic and Key Club Scholarship Program. The recipients were selected from twenty-four applications. Interviews were conducted before the field was reduced to the final nine students.

The Vern Williams Scholarship was created in memory of Vern Williams, a long-time community volunteer and fellow Early Riser Kiwanian who had a special dedication to the youth in our area. His untimely death spurred the club to do something in remembrance of his love for youth and his desire to help them enjoy a happy and successful life. This scholarship provides financial assistance to students who have overcome difficult obstacles or demonstrated a marked change in behavior to successfully graduate from an alternative education program or any of the area high schools and who demonstrate a commitment to improving the quality of their lives through education.

Recipients of the Early Riser Academic Program, in addition to academic achievement, must demonstrate a strong desire to further their education and a life plan that embraces community involvement, a desire to make the most of their individual potential and a commitment to improving the quality of their lives through education.

The Key Club Scholarship is awarded to outstanding Early Riser Key Club Members who in addition to academic achievement, and a desire to make the most of their individual potential, have demonstrated a commitment to their schools and communities through the use of their leadership skills and volunteerism.

The club’s annual “Brews, Blues and BBQ” event is the source of the funding. This year, the “Brews, Blues and BBQ” event will be held at the Yuba-Sutter Fairgrounds on Saturday, September 7, 2019 from 4 – 8 p.m. with all proceeds benefiting vital education and scholarship programs for children and young adults in our community.


Back row, Left to right: Joel Arnold (Committee Member), Jesse Santana (Committee Member) and David Flores (President, ERK)

Middle row, Left to right: Joshua Barriga, Emmanuel Zamora, Anthony Flores, and William Blake Gouker.

Front row, Left to right: Emmanuel Oregel, Jazmin Borrayo, Amarjot Mann, Laura Lopez Romo, Husandeep Kaur Toor, Annette Gisi (Committee Member) and Irma Santana (Committee Chair).

You have to log in or create an account and log in to post comments. Click here to login or register